Friday 12 July 2013


See also: 2014 FIFA World Cup and Sports in Brazil Football The view from the top Pacaembu Stadium, historic city stadium.

As in the rest of Brazil, Football is by far the most popular sport. The major teams are São Paulo FC, Palmeiras and Corinthians. Portuguesa is a medium club and Juventus and Nacional are two small clubs.

São Paulo is one of the host cities of the 2014 FIFA World Cup, for which Brazil is the host nation. The Corinthians stadium, called Arena Corinthians, is being built for the event.

Football/soccer teams Club League Venue Established (team) São Paulo FC Série A Morumbi Stadium

67,428 (138,032 record)

1935 SE Palmeiras Série B Arena Palestra Itália (under construction)


1914 SC Corinthians Série A Arena Corinthians (under construction)

48,000 (68,000 for 2014 FIFA World Cup)

1910 Portuguesa Série A Canindé Stadium

19,717 (25,000 record)

1920 Juventus Campeonato Paulista Série A2 Rua Javari Stadium

7,200 (9,000 record)

1924 Nacional Campeonato Paulista Série B Nicolau Alayon Stadium

9,500 (22,000 record)

1919 São Silvestre Road Race Main article: Saint Silvester Road Race

The São Silvestre Race takes place every New Year's Eve. It was first held in 1925, when the competitors ran about 8,000 metres. Since then, the distance raced varied, but is now set at 15 km (9.3 mi).

Brazilian Grand Prix Autódromo José Carlos Pace, the venue for the Brazilian Grand Prix.

The Formula One Brazilian Grand Prix (Portuguese: Grande Prêmio do Brasil) is held at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace in Interlagos. The race has been held continuously since 1990. Since 1973, the first year Formula One Grand Prix had been held in Brazil, 4 Brazilians have won the Grand Prix in São Paulo: Emerson Fittipaldi (1973) and 1974), José Carlos Pace (1975), Ayrton Senna (1991 and 1993) and Felipe Massa (2006 and 2008).

In 2007, a new local railway station Autódromo of the Line C (Line 9) of CPTM, was constructed near the circuit to improve access.

São Paulo Indy 300

The São Paulo Indy 300 is an IndyCar race. Seven Brazilians competed, including Ana Beatriz, Hélio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Raphael Matos, Vitor Meira, Mario Moraes and Mario Romancini. São Paulo is the hometown of Beatriz, Castroneves, Moraes and Romancini.

Other sports

Volleyball, basketball, skateboard and tennis are other major sports. There are several traditional sports clubs in São Paulo that are home for teams in many championships. The most important are Esporte Clube Pinheiros (waterpolo, volleyball, swimming, basketball and handball), Clube Athletico Paulistano (basketball), Esporte Clube Banespa (volleyball, handball and futsal), Esporte Clube Sírio (basketball), Associação Atlética Hebraica (basketball), São Paulo Athletic Club (rugby union), Pasteur Athlétique Club (rugby union), Rio Branco Rugby Club(rugby union), Clube de Regatas Tietê and Clube Atlético Ipiranga, also, on Bom Retiro, we have the Baseball Stadium, Mie Nishi.

International sports events

The following international sports events have been held in São Paulo:

1950 – FIFA World Cup (association football); 1963 – Pan American Games (Multi-sports); 1971 – FIBA World Championship for Women; 1977 – Women's U20 Volleyball World Championship; 1983 – FIBA World Championship for Women; 1993 – Volleyball World League; 1994 – Women's Volleyball World Championship; 1998 – UFC 17.5: UFC Brazil; 2000 – FIFA Club World Championship (Football); 2002 – South American Games (Multi-sports); 2005 – World Cup in Artistic Gymnastics; 2006 – International Police and Fire Games (Multi-sports); 2006 – FIBA World Championship for Women (Basketball); 2006 – 13th World Cup Final in Artistic Gymnastics; 2007 – 3rd International Blind Sports Association World Championships and Games; 2011  - World Women's Handball Championship; 2013 – UFC São Paulo: UFC on FX 7 2014 – FIFA World Cup

No comments:

Post a Comment